kernel-build.git
2 months agokbuild: Add --help argument master
Laurent Pinchart [Mon, 15 Feb 2021 22:55:21 +0000 (00:55 +0200)]
kbuild: Add --help argument

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
4 months agoimages: FIT: Make configuration name configurable
Laurent Pinchart [Mon, 14 Dec 2020 12:47:51 +0000 (14:47 +0200)]
images: FIT: Make configuration name configurable

Not all boot loaders use the same naming scheme for configurations. Make
the configuration name prefix configurable by platforms.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
4 months agokbuild: Allow building documentation subsets
Laurent Pinchart [Mon, 21 Sep 2020 14:49:45 +0000 (17:49 +0300)]
kbuild: Allow building documentation subsets

Add an optional argument to the --doc option to select documentation
directories to build.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
4 months agokbuild: Run documentation build in virtualenv
Laurent Pinchart [Mon, 21 Sep 2020 14:49:45 +0000 (17:49 +0300)]
kbuild: Run documentation build in virtualenv

To avoid depending on the sphinx version installed on the host, run the
documentation build in a python virtual environment.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
4 months agokbuild: Pass build options to bindeb-pkg
Laurent Pinchart [Mon, 14 Dec 2020 12:42:23 +0000 (14:42 +0200)]
kbuild: Pass build options to bindeb-pkg

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
7 months agoSupport overriding the image file name
Laurent Pinchart [Wed, 2 Sep 2020 02:11:10 +0000 (05:11 +0300)]
Support overriding the image file name

Add support for overriding the image file name, using the same mechanism
as for DTB files. The 'image' parameter can specify both the image make
target and image destination file name, separated by a ':'. If no ':' is
found, the image make target is used as the image destination file name.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
7 months agokbuild: Support custom make arguments on the command line
Laurent Pinchart [Wed, 2 Sep 2020 01:54:22 +0000 (04:54 +0300)]
kbuild: Support custom make arguments on the command line

Add support for passing additional arguments to make. The arguments can
be specified after the platform name, or, if no platform name is
specified, after an empty option (--).

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
7 months agokflash: Add argument to select which partitions to flash
Laurent Pinchart [Wed, 2 Sep 2020 01:46:11 +0000 (04:46 +0300)]
kflash: Add argument to select which partitions to flash

The --partitions argument can be used to select which partitions to
flash. By default kflash will flash all partitions defined in the
platform file.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
13 months agoplatforms: zynqmp: Use a FIT image
Laurent Pinchart [Wed, 26 Feb 2020 01:07:39 +0000 (03:07 +0200)]
platforms: zynqmp: Use a FIT image

This is more convenient as it combines the kernel and device tree.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
13 months agoplatforms: Add target partition patterns to the CrOS platforms
Laurent Pinchart [Wed, 26 Feb 2020 01:06:54 +0000 (03:06 +0200)]
platforms: Add target partition patterns to the CrOS platforms

This enables kflash.sh support.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
13 months agoAdd a kflash.sh flashing script
Laurent Pinchart [Wed, 26 Feb 2020 01:04:24 +0000 (03:04 +0200)]
Add a kflash.sh flashing script

The script eases flashing a kernel, modules and DT to a removable
device. It detects the device based on partition name patterns defined
in platform files, performs sanity checks to avoid overwriting system
disks (such as making sure none of the target partitions are already
mounted), copies files to raw partitions with dd or to file systems with
cp or rsync, and beeps when done.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
13 months agokbuild.sh: Don't disable the implicit-fallthrough warning by default
Laurent Pinchart [Wed, 26 Feb 2020 01:02:59 +0000 (03:02 +0200)]
kbuild.sh: Don't disable the implicit-fallthrough warning by default

This was done due to the latest stable version of the kernel not having
implicit-fallthrough warnings fixed for ARM architectures. Now that this
has been fixed, enable the warning again.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
14 months agoimages: FIT: Support kernel image compression
Laurent Pinchart [Thu, 20 Feb 2020 23:40:15 +0000 (01:40 +0200)]
images: FIT: Support kernel image compression

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
14 months agoarch: Support overriding image types in platform files
Laurent Pinchart [Thu, 20 Feb 2020 23:39:22 +0000 (01:39 +0200)]
arch: Support overriding image types in platform files

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
14 months agoplatforms: imx7: Add imx7d-sx-imx7-pl.dtb
Laurent Pinchart [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 18:45:09 +0000 (20:45 +0200)]
platforms: imx7: Add imx7d-sx-imx7-pl.dtb

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
14 months agoplatforms: imx7: Add -Wno-error for BSP kernels
Laurent Pinchart [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 18:45:09 +0000 (20:45 +0200)]
platforms: imx7: Add -Wno-error for BSP kernels

Use the new extra_kcflags mechanism to disable treating warnings as
errors for BSP kernels.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
14 months agoAdd simple mechanism to specify version-based extra CFLAGS
Laurent Pinchart [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 18:39:38 +0000 (20:39 +0200)]
Add simple mechanism to specify version-based extra CFLAGS

Platform files can specify extra CFLAGS by extending the kcflags
environment variable. When a kernel tree for a platform contains both
BSP and mainline branches, different CFLAGS may be needed, as BSPs are
usually littered with warnings. Make it possible to specify extra CFLAGS
per kernel version through a new extra_kcflags array.

This mechanism can be extended later if needed by storing version
comparison strings as array keys (e.g. "<=4.19").

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
19 months agoplatforms: zynqmp: Update loadaddr for ZCU106
Laurent Pinchart [Thu, 5 Sep 2019 16:48:56 +0000 (19:48 +0300)]
platforms: zynqmp: Update loadaddr for ZCU106

The loadaddr specified for the zynqmp platform is invalid for the
ZCU106. While the Image format doesn't make use of loadaddr, in
preparation for a later switch to a FIT image, update the loadaddr
already.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
20 months agoIgnore implicit fallthrough warning
Laurent Pinchart [Thu, 22 Aug 2019 02:04:15 +0000 (05:04 +0300)]
Ignore implicit fallthrough warning

The kernel has enabled the implicit fallthrough warning without fixing
all warnings on ARM first. Disable the warning until this gets
addressed.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
20 months agoplatforms: Add R-Car Gen2 H2 (Lager) and M2 (Koelsch) platforms
Laurent Pinchart [Thu, 22 Aug 2019 02:02:57 +0000 (05:02 +0300)]
platforms: Add R-Car Gen2 H2 (Lager) and M2 (Koelsch) platforms

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
20 months agoFix uImage and srec
Laurent Pinchart [Thu, 22 Aug 2019 02:02:11 +0000 (05:02 +0300)]
Fix uImage and srec

The kernel image file that the uImage and srec images are built from is
stored in $image_kernel, not $kernel_image. Fix it.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
21 months agoFix incorrect ARCH variable name
Laurent Pinchart [Mon, 24 Jun 2019 16:32:44 +0000 (19:32 +0300)]
Fix incorrect ARCH variable name

The architecture is stored in a variable called $arch, not $ARCH. Fix
it.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
23 months agoMove target directory configuration to config.sh
Laurent Pinchart [Sun, 19 May 2019 19:54:40 +0000 (22:54 +0300)]
Move target directory configuration to config.sh

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
23 months agoMove cross compiler configuration to separate config.sh file
Laurent Pinchart [Sun, 19 May 2019 17:54:02 +0000 (20:54 +0300)]
Move cross compiler configuration to separate config.sh file

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
23 months agoConvert all shell variables to lowercase
Laurent Pinchart [Sun, 19 May 2019 17:26:48 +0000 (20:26 +0300)]
Convert all shell variables to lowercase

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
23 months agoModularise image handling
Laurent Pinchart [Sun, 19 May 2019 16:04:07 +0000 (19:04 +0300)]
Modularise image handling

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
23 months agoModularise architecture handling
Laurent Pinchart [Sun, 19 May 2019 16:04:07 +0000 (19:04 +0300)]
Modularise architecture handling

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
23 months agoModularise platform handling
Laurent Pinchart [Sun, 19 May 2019 16:00:19 +0000 (19:00 +0300)]
Modularise platform handling

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
23 months agoInitial import
Laurent Pinchart [Sun, 19 May 2019 15:28:35 +0000 (18:28 +0300)]
Initial import

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>